Santé Sud

Endowment Fund

The Phitrust Endowment Fund finances and supports social entrepreneurs who develop a project with a social purpose while using the management methods of the classical economy. It was created to identify, validate, finance and support "non-profit" projects run by social entrepreneurs.

THE STRUCTURE

Santé Sud


THE SITUATION

There is a shortage of physicians in the Malagasy countryside. Many villages are hundreds of kilometers away from health care. Moreover, the university trains physicians who have difficulties finding work, and remain unemployed.


THE ANSWER

Between 2007 and 2010, the Santé Sud association helped 33 Malagasy physicians to establish practices in rural areas, where each one of them tends to a population of approximately 10 000 persons, with tangible results on health and sanitation, infant mortality, urgent care, prevention of epidemics and rural development. This program involved community input, enabling physicians to be integrated into the community and thereby have their skills and medical practices recognized. At the end of the program, 33 physicians had established autonomous facilities, and become social entrepreneurs living off of the wages from their activities.


Website:
www.santesud.org

Subscribe to our newsletter

Title *:

Santé Sud

Fonds de dotation

Le Fonds de dotation Phitrust finance et accompagne les entrepreneurs sociaux qui développent un projet avec une mission sociétale tout en utilisant des méthodes de gestion issues de l’économie classique. Il a été créé pour identifier, valider, financer et accompagner des projets "not for profit" porté par des entrepreneurs sociaux.

LA STRUCTURE

Santé Sud


LA SITUATION

– Il existe une pénurie de médecins dans la campagne malgache. De nombreux villages sont à des centaines kilomètres d’un premier accès aux soins. Par ailleurs, l’université forme des médecins qui ne trouvent pas de travail et sont au chômage.


LA RÉPONSE

Entre 2007 et 2010, l’association Santé Sud a aidé 33 médecins malgaches à s’installer dans des zones rurales où chacun soigne une population d’environ 10 000 personnes, avec des résultats tangibles sur l’état sanitaire, la mortalité infantile, la prise en charge des urgences médicales, la prévention des épidémies, et le développement rural. Un programme dans lequel les communautés se sont impliquées, permettant l’intégration communautaire des médecins et ainsi leur reconnaissance et la viabilité de leur activité. À la fin du programme les 33 médecins étaient autonomes, véritables entrepreneurs sociaux vivant des revenus de leur activité.


Site Internet :
www.santesud.org

Recevoir la newsletter Phitrust

Civilité *:

Je souhaite recevoir les newsletters suivantes *: